技术/研发

计算机流体混合模拟技术(CFM)

CFM是一个可用于不同搅拌器/叶轮设计上强大精确的流体流动建模工具。其他价值分析包括化工和传热的混合和反应速率。.

在搅拌釜反应器中混合单种还是多相流体在许多行业中都是很常见的操作方式。对于设备设计,了解流体在罐体内的流动方式至关重要。CFM模型可以让你清楚了解到混合罐内到底发生了什么。使得工程师可以选择最佳的搅拌器设计来获得所需的工艺性能。

搅拌槽内的流动模式非常复杂,传统的CFM需要耗费大量的时间来处理。一个CFM技术人员可能需要长达3天的时间来定义所有的方程式和运行程序。但是我们拥有大量的专利技术可以加速这一过程。凯米尼尔工程师可以在短短10分钟内获得CFM二维分析,而3d分析仅需3-4小时即可。

我们的分析能力并不局限于圆柱形搅拌槽。矩形和侧进式搅拌罐还包括湍流和层流静态混合器也可以通过我们的CFM技术进行分析。

凯米尼尔CFM模型通过先进的实验技术得到了广泛的认可。凯米尼尔是业内第一个使用激光粒子影像测速进行搅拌分析。通过进一步对PIV的改善可以得到一些特有的数据,为您的搅拌需求提供最准确的设计。


粒子影像测速技术(DPIV)

Laser Laboratory DPIV帮助我们的工程师对搅拌槽内发生的流动现象有了更好的了解。氩离子激光灯片照亮荧光灯,平衡浮力颗粒。CCD相机可以捕捉到图像,然后先进的定时系统和带意象板的电脑冻结并数字化这些图像。下图所示的是荧光粒子在氩离子灯光照射下的运动。粒子(60微米)很小且浮力平衡,所以它们可以跟着液体流动。罐体装有斜叶浆。粒子的流动通过CCD相机记录拍摄。流速场可以通过相关软件从数字化图像中提取。有了这些信息,我们的的工程师可以为您的应用设计出更好的搅拌设备。

DPIV技术可以测量出罐中整个流速场的情况,几乎瞬间就可以了解到罐内对于搅拌过程起到重要作用的大范围时间现象。

Full flow Field Measurements Using DPIV下图表明通过DPIV显示了一系列全流场的结果。颜色显示的是局部时均速度。红色的部分代表快速移动区域,蓝色则是移动缓慢的区域。斜叶浆可以产生轴/径向流模式。而流速最高的地方是在叶轮叶尖。流速在液体表面呈数量级降低。

Computational Fluid Mixing Graph如果结合计算机流体混合模拟技术,(CFM),DPIV可以提供最准确的应用评估。CFM软件中的各种数学模型必须经过验证确保程序结果的准确性。DPIV分析可以与实际试验数据验证,如果有必要,DPIV的测试数据可以用来进一步改善CFM模型,这样而已预测的准确度会更高。


激光多普勒测速技术(LDA)

Laser Doppler Anemometry Image 激光多普勒测速技术(LDA)是时间上公认确定无干涉平均速度和湍流精确数据的最好方法。凯米尼尔使用Dantec FlowLite交钥匙测量系统来确定搅拌槽和静态混合器中的速度。这种测量技术依赖于物质事实,当两束波长相同的激光交叉,会形成明和暗条纹的干涉图样。作为一个单粒子穿过这两束激光光束的交叉口,它在一定频率上会反射光,但这取决于粒子的速度和间距。适当的光纤收集和数据分析使在极少流体体积情况下的速度测量达到很高的精准度。几分钟内,成千上万的颗粒通过测量体积,使得速度在这点能够准确测定。

凯米尼尔使用这些测量方法来验证搅拌等级同时也能描述特定的叶轮区域。计算机流体混合模拟技术经常使用这一信息来精确判定这个搅拌容器中的流量。


激光诱发荧光成像技术

Laser Induced Fluorescence 在基本诊断中,其中一个最具挑战性的的问题就是直接测量混合度。在传统的混合系统中有限制因素包括探测器的侵入以及一定数量的探测器进入统计和确定混合度。激光诱发荧光成像技术是一种测量技术使得用户可以对搅拌有最直面的了解。像若丹明或荧光素纳这样的材料在特定波长的光照下会发出荧光。我们利用这个属性来追踪注入剂在搅拌容器和静态混合器中的路径和扩散情况。当荧光材料在光线的照射下,更高的波长比激光波长更分散光束。散射光可以通过视频或连在电脑上的CCD相机捕捉到。这些数码图像通过均匀性的测定来进行分析。

Laser Induced Fluorescence用此类分析法分析的好处之一是混合的质量和定量评估都可以同时获得。在静态混合器的系统中,我们通过这一信息计算出搅拌槽中的变异系数,混合时间也可被测量。在任何情况下,用户可以对混合机理有一个大致的机理。


凯米尼尔研发实验室

凯米尼尔研发实验室位于俄亥俄州代顿市离我们的工厂200米。我们的实验室的职能分为两个部分为客户提供试验及研发。

客户研发试验

Outside Lab Photo - Dayton, Ohio Facility

在混合中不是每个应用中都有案例可参考,许多应用也很难通过计算机建模,因此,有时需要把混合问题按比例缩小在实验室进行研究。凯米尼尔在研发中心单独留出一间房间为客户做实验。房间按照OSHA标准建立一个144平方英尺的保护罩。各种测试设备被放入保护罩内来处理各种各样的动态和静态混合应用。


R & D Man working in lab Image 动态搅拌器可以在各式各样的容器中进行研究。大多数容器都是透明的,可能是玻璃的或丙烯酸制成,用于见证混合过程非常重要的流动模式。容器一般是1到3英尺按比例重建客户的容器。挡板也很容易去除用来研究偏心安装或者不同混合应用。矩形和圆形罐也没问题。我们拥有不同种类的叶轮形式,通常是直径增量的1/4英尺,可以在很短时间内组装完成。不同种类的分布器也可以应用于气体分散的研究中。扭矩和速度都是电子控制无需对轴承或者齿轮传动损失进行校对。通过指示器来做酸碱中和是一个很有效的手段来测定混合度在99%

静态混合器也可以在我们的客户测试中心进行研究。与动态搅拌类似,我们尽量在研究静态混合使用玻璃或者丙烯酸容器用于见证混合过程。离心泵和容积泵用于抽取不同粘度的层状,过渡和湍流应用。管道尺寸在2-3英尺。压力降和混合度通常是最想拿到的数据。通过指示器来做酸碱中和是一个很有效的手段来测定混合度在99%。

研究和发展

R & D Man working in lab Image

过程设计技术已融入了我们的专家设计程序,这些技术来源于在混合和搅拌领域不断地研究和发展。凯米尼尔一直保持着活跃的研究发展项目。我们通过使用不同的工具来帮助评估个体可能性。这些工具包括DPIV(粒子影像测速技术),LDA(激光多普勒测速技术),他们勇于评估瞬时和平均速度的矢量场,LIF(激光诱发荧光成像技术)用于混合研究,CFM(计算机流体混合模拟技术),装有应变计轴的全刻度容器用来研究叶轮水力负荷和功率特性。全刻度容器充分适用比例增加原则,同时也适合测试新驱动器,这个装置可以立即提供扭矩数据和其他工具。

FaLang translation system by Faboba

Technology / R&D

Computational Fluid Mixing (CFM)


CFM is a powerful tool that is used to mathematically model fluid flows of different agitator/impeller designs in mixing tanks. Other valuable analyses include the mixing and reaction rates of chemicals and heat transfer.

Mixing of single and multi-phase fluids in stirred tank reactors is a common operation in many industries. Understanding the fluid flow in these tanks is critical for equipment design, scale-up, process control and economic factors. CFM models allow you to see what is taking place in the mixing vessel. The results enable an engineer to select the best agitator design to obtain the desired process performance.

The flow patterns in stirred tanks are complex, which makes traditional CFM a time-consuming process. A CFM technician may need as long as three days to define all of the equations and run the program. However, we have applied a variety of proprietary techniques to expedite this process. Chemineer engineers can obtain a two-dimensional CFM analysis in as little as 10 minutes, and a 3-D analysis in 3 to 4 hours.

Our analytical capabilities are not limited to just cylindrical stirred tanks. Rectangular and side-entering agitated tanks as well as turbulent and laminar flow static mixers can all be successfully evaluated using our CFM technology.

Chemineer's CFM models receive extensive validation using advanced experimental techniques. Chemineer is the first in the industry to use laser based Particle Image Velocimetry (PIV) for mixing analysis. The unique data obtained with PIV further improves our modeling capabilities and provides you with the most accurate design for your agitation needs.


Digital Particle Image Velocimetry (DPIV)

Laser Laboratory DPIV helps our engineers to better understand the flow phenomena occurring in mixing tanks. An Argon-Ion laser light sheet illuminates fluorescent, neutrally buoyant particles. A CCD camera captures the images, then an advanced timing system and a computer with image board freezes and digitizes the images. The picture below shows the motion of fluorescent particles illuminated by a sheet of Argon-Ion laser light. The particles (60 micrometers) are small and neutrally buoyant, so they follow the liquid flow. The tank is equipped with a pitched-blade turbine. The particle motion is filmed with a CCD camera. The velocity field is then extracted from the digitized images using cross-correlation software. Armed with this information, our engineers can better design agitation equipment for your specific application.

DPIV technology has the capability of measuring the entire fluid velocity field in a tank almost instantaneously making it possible to study large-scale, time-dependent phenomena in the tank, which is responsible for much of the mixing process.

Full flow Field Measurements Using DPIVThe image below shows the result of a series of full flow field measurements using DPIV. The color shows the local, time-averaged velocity. Fast-moving regions are colored red and slow-moving regions are colored blue. The pitched-blade turbine creates a mixed axial/radial flow pattern. The highest velocities are found at the impeller blade tip. The velocities at the liquid surface are an order of magnitude lower.

Computational Fluid Mixing GraphWhen used in conjunction with Computational Fluid Mixing (CFM), DPIV provides the most accurate application evaluation possible. Various mathematical models used by the CFM software must be validated to ensure the accuracy of the procedural results. DPIV analysis provides that validation with actual experimental data and, if necessary, DPIV test data can be used to further improve CFM models so the predictions have an even higher degree of accuracy.


Laser Doppler Anemometry (LDA)

Laser Doppler Anemometry Image Laser Doppler Anemometry (LDA) is widely recognized as the best method of non-intrusively determining mean velocity and turbulence data with pinpoint accuracy. Chemineer uses the Dantec FlowLite turnkey measurement system to determine velocities in stirred tanks and static mixers. The measurement technique relies on the physical fact that when two laser beams of the same wavelength cross, an interference pattern of bright and dark fringes is formed. As a single particle passes through the intersection of two such laser beams, it reflects light at certain frequencies which depends only on the velocity of the particle and the fringe spacing. Appropriate optical collection and data analysis enable highly accurate velocity measurements within extremely small volumes of fluid. Within minutes, thousands of particles may pass through the measurement volume, enabling an accurate determination of velocity at that point.

Chemineer uses these measurements to verify ChemScale and also to characterize specific impeller zones. This information may often be used with Computational Fluid Mixing to accurately determine the flow in the entire mixing vessel.


Laser Induced Fluorescence (LIF)

Laser Induced Fluorescence One of the most challenging problems in fundamental diagnostics is directly measuring mixedness. Limiting factors in traditional mixing systems include the intrusion of probes and the number of probes required to statistically determine mixedness. Laser Induced Fluorescence (LIF) is a measurement technique which enables the user to gain a fundamental understanding of mixing in a straightforward fashion. Materials such as rhodamine or uranine will fluoresce when struck by light of certain wavelengths. We use this property to track the path and diffusion of injectants in agitated vessels and static mixers. A laser beam is spread into a sheet of coherent light which is projected through a clear pipe or vessel. When fluorescent material is struck by the light, it scatters light at a higher wavelength than the laser wavelength. The scattered light may be captured on video or on a CCD camera directly linked to a computer. These digital images may be analyzed to determine uniformity.

Laser Induced Fluorescence
One of the benefits of such an analysis is that both qualitative and quantitative assessment of mixing may be gained simultaneously. In static mixer systems, we have used this information to calculate a coefficient of variation while in stirred tanks, blend times have been measured. In either circumstance, the user also gains a general understanding of the mixing mechanisms.


Chemineer R & D Labs

The Chemineer R&D Laboratory is located in Dayton, Ohio about 200 meters from our manufacturing facility. Our laboratory functionality is broken down into two different areas: customer testing and R&D.

Customer Test Facility

Outside Lab Photo - Dayton, Ohio Facility

Not every application in mixing has been studied and many applications are difficult to model computationally. As a result, it is sometimes necessary to scale down the problem and study it in the laboratory. Chemineer has set aside a particular room for customer testing in its R&D facility. This room contains an OSHA-compliant 144-square-foot hood. Various pieces of test equipment are designed to be rolled into the hood to handle the myriad of possible dynamic and static mixing applications.


R & D Man working in lab Image Dynamic agitators are studied in a wide variety of different vessels. Most vessels are see-through, either glass or acrylic, as witnessing the flow patterns created are very important to the mixing process. Vessels used are generally from 1 foot through 3 foot in diameter with various types of bottom heads to model the customer's full scale vessel. Baffles can be easily removed to study off-center mounted or viscous mixing applications. Rectangular and square vessels are also available. A wide range of impeller styles, often in 1/4 inch diameter increments, can be assembled in short order. An assortment of spargers is available to study gas dispersion applications. Data on torque and speed is electronically taken without the need to correct for bearing or gear losses. Acid-base neutralizations with an indicator are an effective means of determining mixedness to within about 99% uniformity.

Static mixers can also be studied in our Customer Test Facility. Similar to dynamic mixers, we endeavor to study static mixing in glass or acrylic in order to witness the progress of mixing. Centrifugal and positive displacement pumps are available in order to pump fluids with varying degrees of viscosity for laminar, transitional and turbulent flow applications. Line sizes range from 2 to 3 inches. Pressure drop and mixedness are typically the most desired properties. Acid-base neutralizations with an indicator are an effective means of determining mixedness to within about 99% uniformity.

Research & Development

R & D Man working in lab Image

The process design technology that works its way into our expert design programs comes from our continued research and development in the fields of mixing and agitation. Chemineer maintains an active R&D program. New products start in R&D and we are continually searching for highly efficient and cost effective impellers, impeller systems, static mixers and static mixer systems. We use various tools to assist us in evaluating the individual possibilities. These include DPIV (Digital Particle Image Velocimetry) and LDA (Laser Doppler Anemometry) to evaluate both instantaneous and time averaged velocity vector fields, LIF (Laser Induced Fluorescence) for blending studies, CFM (Computational Fluid Mixing), full scale vessel with strained gaged shafting for studying impeller hydraulic loads and power characteristics, full scale tanks for adequacy of scale-up rules as well as for the testing of new drives, an apparatus which simultaneously provides a reading of torque and thrust, a wind tunnel for gas-gas blending, and other tools.

FaLang translation system by Faboba